COVID-19 NOTICE: Pursuant to the UK government’s advisory, agil8 must cancel all current in-person courses. For further information please see here. Please note this does not impact agil8’s Live Online Training courses.


The Certified Scrum Professional (CSP) programme provides formal validation for advanced Scrum practitioners – it not only sets individuals apart in a competitive job market, but also identifies them as those who will continuously challenge their teams to improve the way Scrum, and other Agile techniques, are delivered.

The CSP programme recognises individual’s experience and competency in Scrum – while also highlighting their deeper understanding of, and ability to successfully execute, Scrum.

The Pathway to CSP

Towards the end of 2017, the Scrum Alliance made some changes to the Certified Scrum Professional pathway. The new approach sets out a 2-year, tiered, journey which focuses on one specific Scrum role (ie ScrumMaster, Scrum Product Owner or Scrum Developer).

The route to CSP enables participants to progressively develop their skills and knowledge, as an Agile practitioner, from the foundations of Scrum through to advanced practice.

Choose your own Path

To become a Certified Scrum Professional, individuals must demonstrate their experience, document training and development, and display proven knowledge in the art of Scrum (via one of the following routes).

The Scum Alliance provides further guidance on the eligibility criteria that must be met in order to achieve CSP-SM, CSP-PO or CSP (for CSD certification holders). Individuals must:

(*Note: to be able to study the A-CSM or A-CSPO you must first hold the respective Scrum Alliance certification as a ScrumMaster, Scrum Product Owner or Scrum Developer).

The eligibility criteria to become a CSP via the Certified Scrum Developer (CSD) route is different to the above – further information on this criteria can be found here.

How can agil8 help you achieve CSP?

Agil8 have upcoming course dates available for both the Advanced Certified ScrumMaster (A-CSM) and Advanced Certified Scrum Product Owner (A-CSPO). Simply click on the respective link below for full course details, and available training dates.

Advanced Certified ScrumMaster (A-CSM)
Advanced Certified Scrum Product Owner (A-CSPO)